Finland gambling licences: who applied and who got one

The National Police Board (Poliisihallitus) has received 75 gambling licence applications (as of 22 September 2026). 2 companies say they got a licence: Wildz Group and Hippos ATG Oy. The National Police Board has not published any licence decision yet (as of 19 October 2026). Licensed online casino and betting can start on 1 July 2027.

Suomeksi

Most applications came at the start: 24 in March and 23 in May. National Police Board figure given to Yle. One company can file more than one application, so the number of companies can be smaller. Processing takes 6–8 months. The press put the number at about 80 on 19 October 2026. Press estimate, not a National Police Board figure. (source)

Timeline

DateWhat happenedSource
16 December 2025Parliament passed the new Gambling Act.Hannes Snellman
January 2026The fee for a licence application was set at 29,000 euros.Valtioneuvosto (Finnish Government)
1 March 2026The National Police Board started to accept licence applications.Poliisi (National Police Board)
30 March 2026There were 24 applications.iGaming Business
May 2026Veikkaus set up two subsidiaries: one for its exclusive games, one for the competitive market.World Casino Directory News
June 2026The National Police Board reported about 50 applications. Most applicants are foreign.Poliisi (National Police Board)
20 July 2026MTV Uutiset: 52 companies have applied, one of them Veikkaus.MTV Uutiset
22 September 2026There were 75 applications. The National Police Board had not decided on any of them yet.Yle Urheilu
15 October 2026Wildz Group says it received a letter from the National Police Board that grants it a five-year licence.Wildz Group press release (G3 Newswire)
19 October 2026Hippos ATG says it received a five-year licence. The National Police Board has not confirmed any decision in public.iGaming Business
1 July 2027The new Gambling Act takes effect. Licensed companies can start. The Finnish Supervisory Agency becomes the licensing authority. Software suppliers can apply for a licence.Borenius Attorneys
1 July 2028Licence holders may only use software from suppliers that hold a gambling software licence.Borenius Attorneys

Companies that applied or got a licence

The National Police Board does not publish the names of applicants. The table lists the companies with a public source for their application or licence. The National Police Board has not published any licence decision.

CompanyOwner group in our dataBrandsStatusDateLicence and gamesSource
Wildz GroupRootz
Named Rootz in our data.
Wildz, Caxino, Wheelz, Spinz, Chipz, Tuplaus, Blingi, Wildz SportsLicence granted
company statement, not confirmed by the National Police Board
15 October 2026B2C gambling licence
online casino and betting
5 years from 1 July 2027
Wildz Group press release (G3 Newswire)
Gaming Intelligence
company statement
Hippos ATG OyAB Trav och Galopp (ATG)
Joint venture of ATG and Suomen Hippos ry.
—Licence granted
company statement, not confirmed by the National Police Board
19 October 2026B2C gambling licence
horse racing bets, sports betting and online casino (company plan)
5 years from 1 July 2027
iGaming Business
company statement
FDJ United (Unibet)
FDJ United's head of Finnish operations told Yle that Unibet filed in May.
Kindred Group plcUnibetAppliedMay 2026B2C gambling licence
not stated
Yle Urheilu
press report
Green Reefnot in our data—Applied20 July 2026B2C gambling licence
not stated
MTV Uutiset
press report
Paf (Ålands Penningautomatförening)
MTV Uutiset names Paf among the applicants. Paf told Helsingin Sanomat it is applying.
Paf (Ålands Penningautomatförening)PafApplied20 July 2026B2C gambling licence
not stated
MTV Uutiset
press report
Suomiveto Oynot in our data—Applied20 July 2026B2C gambling licence
not stated
MTV Uutiset
press report
Veikkaus OyVeikkaus OyVeikkausApplied20 July 2026B2C gambling licence
exclusive licence and a licence for the competitive market
MTV Uutiset
World Casino Directory News
press report

What changes for players

The age limit stays at 18. (source)

Every player must register and sign in with strong identification. (source)

One central self-exclusion system covers all licensed companies. An open-ended exclusion lasts at least one year. Each company must also offer its own exclusions and limits. (source)

Companies have a duty of care: they must monitor play and spot risks. (source)

Marketing must be moderate. Allowed channels include the company's own website, TV, radio, print media and search ads. All other channels are banned, so affiliate marketing and influencer marketing are banned too. (source)

Direct marketing needs the player's consent in advance. Telephone marketing is banned. (source)

Organising or marketing gambling in Finland without a licence is not allowed. (source)

Under the current law, the National Police Board already orders payment blocks: banks must block payments to some unlicensed gambling companies. MTV Uutiset names BML Group, Viking Technology and Nordic Tech Services as blocked companies. (source)

Licence, tax and fees

A licence application costs 29,000 euros to process. (source)

A gambling licence is granted for up to five years. Veikkaus's exclusive licence is granted for up to ten years. (source)

Licence holders pay a lottery tax of 22% of their gaming margin: stakes minus winnings. (source)

Gambling software suppliers need their own software licence (B2B). They can apply from 1 July 2027. From 1 July 2028, licence holders may only use software from licensed suppliers. (source)

What happens to Veikkaus

Veikkaus's exclusive right to online casino and betting ends on 1 July 2027, when the new Gambling Act takes effect. Veikkaus keeps lotteries, scratch cards and land-based slots and casinos. (source)

Veikkaus keeps the exclusive right to lottery-type draw games, scratch cards, and physical slot machines and casino games. (source)

Veikkaus has applied for a licence both for its exclusive games and for the competitive market. In May 2026 it set up two subsidiaries for this. (source)

Who owns Veikkaus? →

Questions and answers

When does the Finnish gambling market open?

Licensed online casino and betting can start on 1 July 2027. That day the new Gambling Act takes effect and Veikkaus's exclusive right to online casino and betting ends. Licence applications have been accepted since 1 March 2026.

Who has a Finnish gambling licence?

Wildz Group (15 October 2026) and Hippos ATG Oy (19 October 2026) say they got a licence. The National Police Board has not published licence decisions, so this comes from the companies' own statements (as of 19 October 2026). No licence is valid before 1 July 2027.

How many companies have applied for a licence?

The National Police Board had received 75 applications by 22 September 2026. One company can file more than one application, so there can be fewer companies. Press estimate on 19 October 2026: about 80 applicants. Publicly known applicants include FDJ United (Unibet), Green Reef, Paf (Ålands Penningautomatförening), Suomiveto Oy and Veikkaus Oy.

Can a foreign online casino operate in Finland before 1 July 2027?

No. Organising or marketing gambling in Finland without a licence is not allowed. Before 1 July 2027, only Veikkaus may offer online casino games and betting in mainland Finland, and no new licence is valid before that day. Under the current law, the National Police Board already orders payment blocks: banks must block payments to some unlicensed gambling companies.

What does the ban on affiliate marketing mean?

Marketing must be moderate. Allowed channels include the company's own website, TV, radio, print media and search ads. All other channels are banned, so affiliate marketing and influencer marketing are banned too. In practice, a gambling company may not market through comparison sites that earn a commission, or through influencers. The rules apply to licence holders from 1 July 2027.

What happens to Veikkaus?

Veikkaus keeps the exclusive right to lottery-type draw games, scratch cards, and physical slot machines and casino games. Veikkaus has applied for a licence both for its exclusive games and for the competitive market. In May 2026 it set up two subsidiaries for this.

How much does a licence cost, and what is the tax?

The application fee is 29,000 euros. It is charged even when the decision is negative. Licence holders pay a lottery tax of 22% of their gaming margin: stakes minus winnings. The National Police Board says processing takes 6–8 months.

Sources

Related: what a casino licence means · brands licensed in Finland · all guides.

Last updated 21 October 2026. How we check facts. Gambling is for adults only. Help in Finland: Peluuri, https://www.peluuri.fi/, 0800 100 101.